waters.

Image I had the opportunity to get to go to Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica this weekend.  The experience was good, and I finally got to see a beach and get sunburnt here.

 

But I got some pretty cool revelation that I would like to share. 🙂

 

I was watching the sunset the first night I was there, and couldn’t help but to be amazed the sheer tranquility of everything.  Everything was SO HUGE but so tranquil.  The waves were calm, the sun wasn’t harsh, the people were walking and talking quietly.  It was absolutely beautiful.The second day I went to another beach and found myself doing what every man has to do — trying to fight the waves.  I would stand strong when a big one came and attempt to stand my ground by my own strength.   These waves weren’t messing around, so I didn’t succeed but a few times.  It was also so fun to try to stand in the same spot for a few waves, and feel the sand under my feet collapse time after time, aligning with Jesus’ saying in Matthew 7:

“Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 25 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house; yet it did not fall, because it had its foundation on the rock. 26 But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand. 27 The rain came down, the streams rose, and the winds blew and beat against that house, and it fell with a great crash.”

But what I loved most was the difference.  The first night the waves were a completely different idea all-together.  They were easy, calm, loving, and inviting.  But the second day, the waves were a challenge.  They were strong, forceful, powerful, and sometimes scary.  They were gonna have their way, and you weren’t going to stop them.  There was something really cool knowing that I couldn’t stop them, too.  I think these differences encapsulate who Jesus is.  In revelation, John describes Jesus like this:

His feet were like burnished bronze, refined in a furnace, and his voice was like the roar of many waters.

His voice was like the roar of many waters.  He can speak, and stir everything up. He can knock you down with only a word. His voice is stronger than anything you can imagine.  His voice has the power of every wave and massive amount of water, plus more.  This blew me out of the water (punny) when I started thinking about it.  Not only is it strong, and causes us to think upon our sin and follow Him, but His voice is tranquil and loving as well.  It invites us to come in and spend time with Him in the calm of the night.  I don’t know, this really rocks me.

I also thought of another verse that I think is amazing.

“Many waters cannot quench love, neither can floods drown it. If a man offered for love all the wealth of his house, he would be utterly despised.”  Song of Solomon 8:7.

There is a whole lot of waters.  But it can’t quench the Bridegroom’s love for us.  His love is so deep, so grand, so huge, that even all of the water on earth and around heaven (see genesis 1 if you don’t know what I mean) can’t quench it.  They can’t drown it out.  It’s here to stay, and it’s stronger than all of the water you can think of. 

 

I just really fell in love with the relationship between water and Jesus this weekend.  So that was fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

